top of page

English Grammar Exercises: Present continuous



Exercise 1 The sentences on the right follow those on the left. Which sentences goes with which?


1 Please don’t make so much noise. 2 I need to eat something soon. 3 I don’t have anywhere to live right now. 4 We need to leave soon. 5 They don’t need their car any more. 6 Things are not so good at work. 7 It isn’t true what they said. 8 We’re going to get wet.a It’s getting late. b They’re lying. c It’s starting to rain. d They’re trying to sell it. e I’m getting hungry. f I’m trying to work. g I’m looking for an apartment. h The company is losing money.


Answers

1 f 2 e 3 g 4 a 5 d 6 h 7 b 8 c

Exercise 2 Complete the conversations.

1. A: I saw Brian a few days ago. B: Oh, did you? ……………………. These days? (what / he / do) A: He’s at university. B: …………………….? (what / he / study) A: Psychology. B: ……………………. it? (he / enjoy) A: Yes, he says it’s a very good course. 2. A: Hi, Nicola. How ……………………. ? (your new job / go) B: Not bad. It wasn’t so good at first, but ……………………. better now. (it / get) A: What about Daniel? Is he OK? B: Yes, but ……………………. his work right now. (he / not / enjoy) He’s been in the same job for a long time and ……………………. to get bored with it. (he / begin)



answer


1 What’s / What is he doing

What’s / What is he studying

Is he enjoying

2 ‘s / is your new job going

it’s getting / it is getting

he isn’t enjoying / he’s not enjoying

he’s beginning / he is beginning



Exercise 3 Put the verb into the correct form, positive (I’m doing etc.) or negative (I’m not doing etc.)

1 Please don’t make so much noise. ……………………. (I / try) to work. 2 Let’s go out now. ……………………. (it / rain) any more. 3 You can turn off the radio. ……………………. (I / listen) to it. 4 Kate phoned me last night. She’s on holiday in France. ……………………. (she / have) a great time and doesn’t want to come back. 5 I want to lose weight, so this week ……………………. (I / eat) lunch. 6 Andrew has just started evening classes. ……………………. (he / learn) Japanese. 7 Paul and Sally have had an argument. ……………………. (they / speak) to each other. 8 ……………………. (I / get) tired. I need a rest. 9 Tim ……………………. (work) today. He’s taken the day off. 10 ……………………. (I / look) for Sophie. Do you know where she is?



answer

1 I’m trying / I am trying

2 It isn’t raining / It is not raining

3 I’m not listening / I am not listening

4 She’s having / She is having

5 I’m not eating / I am not eating

6 He’s learning / He is learning

7 They aren’t speaking / They’re not speaking / They are not speaking

8 I’m getting / I am getting

9 isn’t working / ‘s not working / is not working

10 I’m looking / I am looking


Exercise 4 Complete the sentences using the following verbs:

start get increase change rise 1 The population of the world ……………………. very fast. 2 The world ……………………. . Things never stay the same. 3 The situation is already bad and it ……………………. worse. 4 The cost of living ……………………. . Every year things are more expensive. 5 The weather ……………………. to improve. The rain has stopped, and the wind isn’t as strong.



answer

Exercise 4 Complete the sentences using the following verbs:

start get increase change rise 1 The population of the world ……………………. very fast. 2 The world ……………………. . Things never stay the same. 3 The situation is already bad and it ……………………. worse. 4 The cost of living ……………………. . Every year things are more expensive. 5 The weather ……………………. to improve. The rain has stopped, and the wind isn’t as strong.

GOOD LUCK!


2 visualizações0 comentário

Posts recentes

Ver tudo

Коментарі


bottom of page